Are The Cheesecake Factory Cheesecake Halal?

The Cheesecake Factory Cheesecakes Have Gone Halal!

If you have a sweet tooth, or just love cheesecake, then The Cheesecake Factory is certainly the place for you. However, if you have some knowledge of how this delicious treat is made, you may have realized that, in some instances, cheesecakes do contain beef-based gelatin.

This, of course, can be a worrying thing for any Halal-eater to hear. After all, most restaurants don’t really make an effort to ensure that their food meets Halal standards. So, does The Cheesecake Factory fall into this category or have they gone a different way? Let’s find out!

Do All the Cheesecakes Contain Gelatin?

Now, if you have unwittingly eaten from The Cheesecake Factory in the past, you may be wondering if you have accidentally consumed the gelatin. Well, fortunately, this is probably not the case. Understand, many of the desserts on the menu don’t actually contain gelatin. And since they don’t contain any other animal-derived ingredient apart from milk and eggs, this makes the cakes halal.

The cheesecakes that don’t have any gelatin include:

  • Original Cheesecake
  • Fresh Strawberry Cheesecake
  • Original with Cherry Topping
  • Ultimate Red Velvet Cake Cheesecake
  • Reese’s Peanut Butter Chocolate Cake Cheesecake
  • Toasted Marshmallow S’Mores Galore Cheesecake
  • Lemon Meringue Cheesecake
  • Salted Caramel Cheesecake
  • Chocolate Hazelnut Crunch Cheesecake
  • Hershey’s Chocolate Bar Cheesecake
  • 30th Anniversary Chocolate Cake Cheesecake
  • Chocolate Mousse Cheesecake
  • White Chocolate Raspberry Truffle Cheesecake
  • Chris’ Outrageous Cheesecake
  • Tiramisu Cheesecake
  • Fresh Banana Cream Cheesecake
  • Adams Peanut Butter Cup Fudge Ripple Cheesecake
  • Lemon Raspberry Cream Cheesecake
  • Low Carb Cheesecake
  • Low Carb Cheesecake with Strawberries
  • White Chocolate Caramel Macadamia Nut Cheesecake
  • Snickers Bar Chunks and Cheesecake
  • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake
  • Caramel Pecan Turtle Cheesecake
  • Craig’s Crazy Carrot Cake Cheesecake
  • Chocolate Tuxedo Cream Cheesecake
  • Pumpkin & Pumpkin Pecan Cheesecakes (seasonal)
  • Linda’s Fudge Cake
  • Black Out Cake
  • Carrot Cake
  • Warm Apple Crisp
  • Lemoncello Cream Torte
  • Tiramisu
  • Chocolate Tower Truffle Cake
  • Fresh Strawberry Shortcake

Cheesecakes That Contain Halal Gelatin

The cheesecakes that contain gelatin are on a much smaller list. As you will be pleased to learn, they are also halal. Here are the other cheesecakes that are safe for you to eat:

  • Godiva Chocolate Cheesecake
  • Dulce de Leche Cheesecake
  • Oreo Dream Extreme Cheesecake
  • Key Lime Cheesecake
  • Mango Key Lime Cheesecake
  • Vanilla Bean Cheesecake
  • Peppermint Bark Cheesecake (seasonal)

Are All the Cheesecakes Halal?

Now, there are a couple of things that you should note. First of all, the brand does use vanillin in their cheesecakes for flavors. However, this is well below the acceptable level mentioned for halal qualifications. Due to this, you can consume the cheesecakes.

Although it is not available anymore, The Cheesecake Factory did serve Kahlua Cocoa Coffee Cheesecake. This dessert, and others like it, do contain small amounts of alcohol. Naturally, this means that you can’t consume them.

Recently we met with the Cheesecake Factory and discussed the gelatin used in their cheesecakes, if it was Halal and if it was the same for all their restaurants across the country.  Here is what they had to say:

"Yes. We do not have any cheesecake variations that are location specific and all locations have cheesecakes that are made with Halal beef gelatin with some varieties being completely vegetarian. "

They also referenced a screenshot of their internal systems which state their dietary information.  Pay close attention to the bottom.

Cheesecake factory Halal reference image

It is a good idea to always check with your servers at The Cheesecake Factory, especially if you are ordering a new item on the menu. However, for the most part, you can indulge in your favorite desserts without any guilt at all!

Leave a comment

Please note, comments must be approved before they are published